TBC Crafters 62 – Kid’s project: Feltie Strawberry

Recently my kids are crazy about sewing. My daughter particularly asks for learning to sew and knit. I am so wrapped at work and usually feel exhausted at night. With so many commitment and engagement, it is getting harder for me to split my time effectively on administrating forum page, blogging, writing fiction and sharing in Facebook. However, the first priority goes to my kids. I get sick of myself to keep telling them to wait for tomorrow. In fact, I want to test if my kids are ready to join the craft world. And, actually they are ready. Here is the first project of my dear girl. She shared her idea of making a strawberry and she specifically had a clear picture that how she wanted it and what materials she needed.

P1000421-1

Ingredients:

Felt, I used the red and green ones

Stuffing/filling material, I used handicraft beads this time

Needle and threads

Scissors and marker

And a lot of patience and love XOXOXO

Let my sweetie shows you how to do…..

1) Draft and cut out a template of a strawberry on a piece of paper and transfer it to a piece of red felt. Cut out 2 pieces of strawberry template from the piece of felt.

P1000401-1  P1000408-1

2) Use needle and threads to sew the 2 pieces of strawberry together, leave a small opening for putting stuffing material in.

P1000410-1 P1000412-1

3) Stuff the handicraft beads in and use needle and threads to seal the opening.

P1000414-1

4) Cut out the leaves from the green felt.

P1000417-1

5) Use needle and threads to attach the leaves on top of the strawberry.

P1000420-1

Done!!!!

My sweetie decided to take a picture with her first project and the lovely Hello Kitty doll.

P1000422-1

It is easy, isn’t it? You can make different kind of fruits or other kind of objects using felt and sewing techniques. For kids of my kids’ ages, simple patterns would be more encouraging and inviting for them to learn sewing. Next week, I would share some other projects that my kids have worked on. I would like to know more about kids’ projects. Do you have projects made by your kids to share too?

 

3 thoughts on “TBC Crafters 62 – Kid’s project: Feltie Strawberry

  1. satrntgr

    I love it!! What a talented girl your daughter is. Those stitches are great! What a fun way to make things for your dolls, etc. that aren’t available at the store and you can be proud to say you did it!! Great job! Pinned & Tweeted!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

