TBC Crafters 52 – Naturally Dyed Easter Eggs

Although Easter has just passed, I still want to share this craft that parents and kids can work together. I have dyed some Easter Eggs with my kids in the past Sunday and my 2 kids enjoyed so much – not just the dyeing part but also the eating part.

In Chinese culture, when baby is 30 days old, the family would prepare some eggs dyed in red to distribute to relatives and friends. Relatives and friends would visit the family in the first month of the baby born. The family would serve a special dish – pig’s limbs and eggs with vinegar and ginger. The red eggs would only distribute on the 30th day after the birth of the baby. In the old days, the dye used was beets or red food coloring. Concerning the health of my family, I don’t use artificial coloring, msg or food with a lot of chemical substances. To dye Easter Eggs, I have searched for information and looked up in internet/youtube. There are some videos teaching how to dye Easter eggs with natural ingredients. I reviewed some and experimented trying to make blue, orange and green eggs.

P1220358-1

Ingredients:

Water 2-3 measuring cups

White vinegar 2 tbsp

Blue color dye – 1/3 red cabbage leaves

Orange color dye – 4 yellow onion skin (only need the yellowish part, not the inner whitish part)

Green color dye – 1/3 lbs of spinach leaves

P1220327-1 P1220332-1

How to????

1) Boil the eggs in a pot of water until they are well cooked. Drain and put the eggs aside for later use.

2) Mix 2-3 measuring cups of water with 2 tbsp of white vinegar and add one part of coloring dye ingredient in one pot. To make eggs of 3 different colors, you would need to use 3 pots of water. Boil the ingredients and water in high heat. Once the water boils, turn the fire to medium to low and let it shimmer for 10 minutes. Turn off the fire and let it sit for half an hour.

P1220335-1 P1220339-1 P1220340-1

3) Pour the color water from each pot into small jars or containers. Put the eggs into the jars/containers for at least 30 minutes.

P1220341-1

4) Take out the eggs and pat dry with kitchen paper. If you want it a bit shiny, use kitchen paper to apply some oil on the eggshells then pat it dry.

P1220352-1

5) If you want some patterns, use some stickers to stick on the eggshells before putting the eggs into the dye.

P1220347-1 P1220351-1

P.S. The red cabbage made beautiful Tiffany blue. I let the eggs sitting in the blue color dye for an hour and it turned out wonderful. The orange one were pretty too. My kids could not wait and I need to take them out after half an hour. I believe that they would turn out even more rich in color if I let it sit for an hour. The spinach did not give a satisfactory result. To have better outcome, I would remind you to use white eggs instead of brown eggs, particularly for blue color and orange color. When I boiled the eggs at the beginning, 2 of them cracked, possibly because of difference in temperature. Since the dyes I used were natural ingredients, it is not a big issue of using the cracked eggs for dyeing.

My kids cannot wait to “eat” their craft. They love hard-boiled eggs. Luckily, they don’t like egg yolk which is the source of cholesterol.

Hope you enjoy the post of this week and see you next time!

Do you have a Thrilling Thursday craft to add? Add a link to your blog post in the linky below after you’ve left a comment on this post! Please show support of handcrafting by spreading the love through pinning, tweeting and sharing in social media networks. Happy crafting!

6 thoughts on “TBC Crafters 52 – Naturally Dyed Easter Eggs

  1. Jamie Tomkins (@satrntgr)

    I love the story behind this, Maggie. What an awesome tribute to culture. Plus, no fake ingredients? LOVE IT!!! I think it’s fun to dye eggs anytime and not only on Easter, so this is one I’ll be saving!! Thanks!!

    Reply
  2. Dawn Pruitt

    I love the blue and I love the story of your culture! Thanks for sharing that!! I never would have thought to use onions or cabbage, but I really like having that natural option!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

