TBC Crafters 48 – Pop Up Box Card

I mentioned in my previous post of Feb 6th, I joined a scrapbooking fans club and the members exchange cards in major occasions. My Pop up box card has arrived and I can disclose it now. This is not my original idea, definitely not know who is the “creator”. Recently, I have seen a lot of people posting their cards in different social networks. If you search “pop up box card” in google images or Pinterest or youtube, you can find tons of beautiful cards made with this technique. I guarantee that you will fall in love with this type of card. For the template and how-to tutorials, you can easily find many videos in youtube and major online craft suppliers. I learned it from splitcoaststampers on youtube. This is the link of the video http://youtu.be/iaKsxdaVwv8 and you can check the tutorial and step-by-step instructions in the website of Splitcoast Stampers at http://www.splitcoaststampers.com/resources/tutorials/popupboxcard/

Here’s my first pop up box card, definitely not the best and need improvements. But, it’s a good start for me and I am addicted now. Since it is my first trial and I actually spent a few nights to finish (my two wrists and my left arm hurt, I could not work continuously for too long!) , I did not take pictures for a detailed tutorial, sorry.

This is the front of my card. I picked the theme of flowers, butterflies and birds. I wanted my card to deliver a happy message hence, I decided to use bright and pastel colors.  Flowers were made with the technique used in the post of TBC Crafters 46 Paper Flower Valentine Card (yes, made with my favorite buttons!). The 2 big butterflies were made with stamp and ink. The other smaller butterflies were cut out from a scrapbook paper. They all were stick on plastic stripes which made them more presentable.

P1210312-1  P1210315-1

Side views show red heart on one side and blue heart on the other side. Both have birds inside the hearts and I placed the image of a bird’s nest with eggs on the back panel of the box card.

P1210314-1  P1210313-1

There are 4 hearts tied on the front box panel with a bow. Untie the bow and the receiver can read the message that I wrote on the hearts.

P1210319-1

 

What do you think of my first pop up box card? Do you feel tempted to try it too?

Do you have a Thrilling Thursday craft to add? Add a link to your blog post in the linky below after you’ve left a comment on this post! Please show support of handcrafting by spreading the love through pinning, tweeting and sharing in social media networks. Happy crafting!

17 thoughts on “TBC Crafters 48 – Pop Up Box Card

  1. Jamie

    That’s adorable!! The card itself would be a great gift for some friends, etc. – Love it. Saving this one for a to-do-later! 🙂 Pinned & Tweeted

    Reply
  2. Rose Powell

    This looks like a SERIOUS card, like over my head! This would be so awesome to make, looks like your paper crafting skills are really taking off! LOVE IT, but you forgot to add the button to “close the card” … That would be cute!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

