TBC Crafters 43 – Rubber Band Bracelet without a kit

If you have a daughter, very likely you have heard of it. If you have a son, possibly you have heard of it too. It is called “Rainbow Loom” which was created by a dad who is an engineer and wished to share the fun with his 2 daughters using rubber bands to weave bracelets. Who knows, he has sold 3 million Rainbow loom kits already and really impressed his 2 girls. His name is Choon Ng who migrated from Malaysia to Michigan, USA in 1991. Sure, with the success of this toy of the year, there are copycats, a lot…. you can easily find counterfeits online or in local stores. And also, there are many similar kits with slightly different names. As a mom, I concern about safety. Ng’s kit contains latex-free rubber bands and is tested with the safety toy standards of many countries.

P1200952-1 P1200953-1

My daughter is still too young to understand how to weave with the loom. She received a Rainbow Loom kit from my sister-in-law this year. Thanks my sister-in-law to gift her this kit and she is so nice to include 2 extra bags of rubber bands. My daughter was begging me to teach her how to make bracelets and necklaces. The operation using the loom is kind of complicated to her. Instead, I taught her every simple double chain bracelets. She can use her fingers and she has made a lot of bracelets and necklaces already. When I was a little kid, I used the similar technique to make jump rope and played with my classmates during recess time.

P1200966-1 P1200968-1

Ingredients: –

Rubber bands of the same size, I used 18 yellow and 18 pink ones plus 2 green ones. You can adjust the numbers based on the length you would like to make.

P1200955-1 P1200959-1

1 S-clip or C-clip

Steps: –

1) Wrap 2 yellow rubber bands around 1 green one and pull out through the green band. The green band is now cling on one end.

P1200960-1 P1200961-1

2) Repeat the above by using 2 pink bands wrap and pull through the 2 yellow bands. Repeat the same steps by using yellow and pink bands alternatively until all the yellow and pink bands are used up.

P1200962-1

3) Use the last piece of green rubber band to wrap and pull the last 2 bands. Then pull the green band out and hook the 2 green bands with a S-clip or C-clip.

P1200964-1 P1200966-1

 

This is the official Rainbow Loom site with a lot of instructions to make different patterns of bracelets. http://www.rainbowloom.com/instructions

P.S. These are my personal opinions. I am not paid to write the product reviews or endorsements.

Do you have a Thrilling Thursday craft to add? Add a link to your blog post in the linky below after you’ve left a comment on this post and add this button to your blog post!

13 thoughts on “TBC Crafters 43 – Rubber Band Bracelet without a kit

    1. Mag@GirlyCreation Post author

      My daughter is too young but her fingers are pretty good. She can tie 2 pigtails herself without help. Of course, they are not perfect but I believe that she can be crafty when she grows older. She tends to make simple single or double chains only.

      Reply
  1. Shawn Annnn

    I remember doing stuff like that when I was a little girl. They are so much fun and keep you occupied for a while. Although I don’t have any girls, I thought about getting one for my oldest because he loves to make things. Knowing that you can make them with or without the loom is good to know.

    Reply
    1. Mag@GirlyCreation Post author

      Me too! Girls usually made jump ropes with the rubber bands and we would compete who can jump the highest and more. Those were good old days. Guess what, I’m addicted to see so many creations on youtube. LOL

      Reply
  2. Jamie

    How fun!! I have seen these everywhere and the kids love them. I always thought the kit was too expensive. Don’t know if my fingers could handle holding those little things, but what a great idea!! Love it! Pinned & Tweeted!

    Reply
    1. Mag@GirlyCreation Post author

      I don’t know it until my coworker told me, she ordered the kit for her daughter. Then I found out even boys get crazy too, my son received a bracelet as a Christmas gift from his boy classmate. Complicated patterns may be hard for working without the loom but the simple chain bracelet is not hard.

      Reply
  3. Dawn Pruitt

    Cool! I never realized how easy these were to weave with just your fingers! I may have to give this a try, good to know I don’t have to buy a kit! Thank for sharing! Pinned and Tweeted!

    Reply
  4. purpletuck

    Oh my cousins are all about these bracelets! I’ll have to try this with them to see if it helps them make their own. Thanks for sharing! Pinned and tweeted 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

