TBC Crafters 30 – Paper Firework for July 4th

Today is July 4th. My daughter woke up and I hurried them to wash up and go downstairs for breakfast.

She said, “Oh yes, school time (Summer school).”

I said, “No, no school today. Holiday! Don’t you remember?”

She wondered, “What holiday?”

I told her, “Today is July 4th.”

She was so excited, “Oh yes, today is the country’s birthday. Hey brother, hurry up.”

I tried to make a craft related to July 4th yesterday night but finally felt like watching a movie (well, mom sometimes needs some ME time and relax) Today, I have the children at home and really don’t feel right to leave them out. I asked them to get involved and they both were so excited to work on a project (which is what we call craft at home) with me. This one is simple and fast if I do it by myself but have to spend at least double the time to explain and “help” them to finish it “nicely”. But, these mom-and-kids’ moment are priceless and will stay in the memories.

Ingredients:

1 x A4 paper (I grabbed a white one and you can use whatever color or even pattern one)

A few color paper (I chose white, yellow, red and blue, matching the colors of our country flag)

A mini star papercraft punch

Some glue and a pair of scissors (plus my son’s hand)

Step by step instructions:

1) Roll the A4 paper from one corner diagonally towards to the other end and use some glue to stick it on to form a paper wand. (this cute little bandaged hand is belong to my daughter)

2) Cut vertical strips (about 1/4″ wide) from one side of the white paper to the other side without cut it off and it form the base of the firework. Reference to how to make the petals of paper flowers from the earlier post, click here to see the detailed instructions.

3) Glue the white paper on one side of the wand. Curve the paper strips with a pencil or simply a pair of scissors. Do not need to be very curly but prefer to form a few layers.

4) Use a star-shaped paper punch to cut out some stars in yellow, red and blue colors.

5) Stick one star on the tip of each firework paper strip with some glue. And the paper firework is done.

My son wanted to make it himself but finally made a mistake. Therefore, the firework does not look  so good as his sister’s. I think that it is pretty good, isn’t it?

My daughter inherits the sense of arts & crafts from me, she understood how to make the firework and worked on her own most of the the time. She wants her little bunny to hold the firework wand when I took a picture.

I try to make practical craft which can be used in daily life and my children would love it. It is the highest compliment that I can ever receive. Both kids played with the firework wands for half day. They brought them to the grannies’ home to show  off. And, they brought them to the bedroom and placed them next to their beds.

Do you have a Thrilling Thursday craft to add? Add a link to your blog post in the linky below after you’ve left a comment on this post and add this button to your blog post!

12 thoughts on “TBC Crafters 30 – Paper Firework for July 4th

  1. roseapowell

    Super cute, I thought those were star stickers! I need to get some punches! Isabella would have had fun making those, perhaps we can make “candles”… Pinning it!

    Reply
  2. Mary H.

    Super cute and Ill bet the kids loved making them. I am always looking for kids crafts to do so I will be keeping this one in mind for next year!

    Reply
    1. Mag@GirlyCreation Post author

      True, it can be tailor-made to different occasions. I already have one for fairy-theme party, one for Halloween, one for winter and one for Christmas in mind. Gonna to be busy, LOL.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

