TBC Crafters 25 – Personalized Napkin Rings

Thursday again!!! Are you ready for another craft using a toilet paper roll? This week, I take the suggestion of my fellow TBC Crafter Dawn to use ribbon to wrap around a toilet paper roll to make a craft project.

Napkin rings are usually bought in a set but I would love to make personalized ones for guests or family. I used 2 sets of materials to create different looks and feels. The materials are available in my house. Have I told you that I’m a hauler of all kinds of beautiful stuff? And my kids now know that I have stored my beautiful stuff in the closet and they call it the beautiful treasure corner. Let see what I need from this beautiful treasure corner to create this week’s project.

Materials

1 x toilet paper roll (I can make 5-6 napkin rings out of it)

2-1/2 feet of 3/8″ grosgrain ribbons of different colors

4 feet of Chinese knotting thread cords

Charms / buttons

Double-side adhesive tapes

Step to Step Instructions

Napkin ring with Chinese knotting thread cord and charm

1) Cut out 1 ring from a toilet paper roll (about 3/4″ wide) using a pair of scissors.

2) Use double-side adhesive tape to fix 2 stripes of 3/8″ ribbons on the outer side of the ring.

3) Wrap around the toilet paper ring with Chinese knotting thread cord. Remember to pull the cord tight and straighten the half knots at the side of the ring.

4) Add a charm in the middle of the ring.

5) When the whole ring has been wrapped around totally by the Chinese knotting thread cord. Tie a knot and cut the 2 ends of the thread cord. Heat seal it with a lighter and hide the 2 ends underneath the inner part of the ring.

Napkin ring with ribbon and rhinestone button

1) Cut out 1 ring from a toilet paper roll (about 3/4″ wide) using a pair of scissors.

2) Put a strip of double-side adhesive tape onto the outer part of the ring. Wrap the ribbon around the ring with an angle for easy coverage of the ring.

3) Insert a rhinestone button into the ribbon and position it in the middle of the ring.

4) Use a piece of double-side adhesive tape to stick the end of the ribbon in the inner part of the napkin ring.

You can create any kind of personalized napkin ring by using different materials. I made the running shoe one for my son and the rhinestone one for my daughter. But, I would expect them playing with it as the clowns for their stuffed animals or dolls.

Do you have a Thrilling Thursday craft to add? Add a link to your blog post in the linky below after you’ve left a comment on this post and add this button to your blog post!



8 thoughts on “TBC Crafters 25 – Personalized Napkin Rings

  1. roseapowell

    That’s is so resourceful!!! I really like the rhinestone one, so many things can be done with this, very nice way to save money & personalize exactly to your likes!!!

    Reply
    1. Mag@GirlyCreation Post author

      Exactly! I can save money and make them the ways and styles that I want. I’m impressed that how the rhinestone turn out to be. It looks like a diamond ring, isn’t it?

      Reply
  2. Jamie

    Adorable and a great reuse!! You could even have these match any party theme and they wouldn’t cost much!! Thanks Maggie!! Pinned & Tweeted

    Reply
  3. Dawn

    I absolutely love crafts that are cheap and easy. This is super easy and free if you have some ribbon and fabric scraps! Thanks for the great ideas!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

