TBC Crafters 22 – DIY Ballet Shoes Bag

My daughter has just started learning dancing and she loves it. I bought her a pretty pink dancing shoes. She keeps it in the original box and brings it to the class every week. However, the paper box starts to rip and I don’t want to put the shoes right into my purse. I saw some girls keeping their shoes in a Ziploc bag. My girl told me to make her one to keep the shoes in. She thinks that her mom (me) is a super who-know-how woman and I can make everything.

I let her choose a piece of fabric from my stock (I have over 100 yards of fabric and I am utilize only limited quantity) and I pick a piece of lace (that one just amazingly matches with the fabric perfectly), a shabby flower and a button. Since I don’ t have a sewing machine yet  photo urfoto254.gif , I hand-sew the bag which took me almost 2 hours including preparation. It turned out not perfect but more than fine. My girl loves her new shoes bag and she is going to show off to her friends. My son is jealous and he wants one too ^o^

 photo P1170759-1_zps3f2da140.jpg

Materials:

1 piece of fabric, wide enough to wrap around the shoes 5-6 times and long enough to cover the shoes. Mine is 11″ x 20″, you don’t want it too small or too tight that any part of the shoes would show out of the bag.

1 piece of lace, long enough to wrap around 3 edges of the bag, Mine measures 26″ long.

1 small piece of Chinese knotting bead thread cord (I used it before for wrapping gift in TBC Crafters 6.

1 button

1 fabric shabby flower

 photo P1170748-1_zpscc38f84f.jpg

Instructions:

1) Fold the fabric in half, pattern facing pattern and inset the lace in between. Start sewing the lace and fabric together using back stitches to make sure that it holds tight.

 photo P1170752-1_zps79ed7470.jpg

2) Sew all the way to half of the length plus 1/3 inch of the fabric. Flip the fabric out. The side of the fabric without lace attached should be shorter than the part with lace on already. Sew the rest of the fabric to the part with lace on to form a pocket. Add lace to the other side of the bag and leave the opening of the bag without lace when you sew the fabric together. The bag is 90% completed.

 photo P1170754-1_zpsde187a60.jpg

 photo P1170755-1_zps9498353c.jpg

3) Make the Chinese knotting beading thread cord a loop and sew it in the middle of pocket opening of the bag (the side with no lace on). Sew a button on the other side of the pocket opening.

 photo P1170756-1_zps06035309.jpg

4) Last touch is adding a shabby flower at one corner of the bag. You can add whatever embellishment you want. Ribbon, bling and button are all good options.

 photo P1170760-1_zpsfd81e40b.jpg

 photo P1170763-1_zpsaeabf557.jpg

Do you have a Thrilling Thursday craft to add? Add a link to your blog post in the linky below after you’ve left a comment on this post and add this button to your blog post!”



4 thoughts on “TBC Crafters 22 – DIY Ballet Shoes Bag

  1. Pingback: {Sew Easy} Ballet Shoe Bag Tutorial - Craftastic Moms | Craftastic Moms

Leave a Reply

