TBC Crafters 17 – Feltie Magnet Butterfly

It is such a busy week! I did not have much time and inspiration at the beginning of the week. All a sudden, I saw some magnet sticks which were taken off from some magnetic badges before. I added a cute felt butterfly to create new life for these magnets. It just needs a bit of sewing and simple decoration.

 photo P1170114-1_zps31ef8d43.jpg

Materials needed:

A sheet of felt, choose the color that you like

2 pieces of pearl beads

Needle and threads

 photo P1170103-1_zps22a8325c.jpg

Step by Step Instructions:

1) Cut 2 pieces of felt in the shape of butterfly and they need to be the same size.

 photo P1170104-1_zpsda8673f0.jpg

2) Use needle and thread to stitch the 2 pieces of felt butterfly together and make a pocket.

3) Before to close the butterfly, stuck a piece of magnet inside and add some batting into it, then use needle and thread to stitch the pocket closed completely.

 photo P1170105-1_zps4b8923e0.jpg

4) Add the 2 pearl beads on top of the butterfly as the eyes. I used needle and threads. It is fine use glue too.

 photo P1170109-1_zps9c2b17fc.jpg

 photo P1170115-1_zps5ab75c7b.jpg

Variations:

** Add a throng clip at the back to make a butterfly hair clip

** Add a pin set at the back to make a butterfly brooch

** Sew it on a shirt or tote bag to make personalized clothes and accessories

Do you have a Thrilling Thursday craft to add? Add a link to your blog post in the linky below after you’ve left a comment on this post and add this button to your blog post!” 

12 thoughts on “TBC Crafters 17 – Feltie Magnet Butterfly

  1. roseapowell

    Now that’s adorable and fun… I can see a felt shape for each holiday or season… Those are going to be fun to make!

    Reply
    1. Mag@GirlyCreation Post author

      Thank you. I am planning to make some others already. My daughter loves stars, flowers and my son wants planes and cars. Your idea is great, holiday and seasonal shapes.

      Reply
  2. Jamie

    How cute!! I remember making something like that for my Mom when I was about 8 or so and I forgot to put the dumb magnet inside, so I just glued it to the back :-p She even still has that thing this many years later!! Love it!! Pinned & Tweeted!

    Reply
    1. Mag@GirlyCreation Post author

      Thanks Rebecca. It just takes a lot of practices and time. I usually am being tempted to do it fast but I try hard to tell myself to stitch slowly and little by little.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

